Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Hair fall help! Could biotin supplement be to blame?

Default Hair fall help! Could biotin supplement be to blame?

I’m having an absolute nightmare with my hair at the moment, I’m losing loads of hair every time I wash it and it’s got so thin. I’ve been taking a 12,000 mcg biotin supplement since May - I started taking it because my hair was thin and falling but it’s massively worse now. I’ve also used a few protein conditioners over last few months but none have helped, I also take collagen powder every day. I’m in dire need of some hair help, if anyone has any suggestions I’d love to hear them. I’m 45 and have fine curly hair, it’s hasn’t been thick for years but now I’m getting really scared by how thin it is ��
    Last edited by Ab1J; August 1st, 2020 at 06:23 AM.

Type
    1a/1b/F/M/ii

Default Re: Hair fall help! Could biotin supplement be to blame?

I'm not a doctor, but I've definitely heard that while biotin supplements help some people with their hair, it can cause excessive hairfall in others. If the biotin is the only thing that you've changed since your hairfall got much worse, that could potentially be part of it. However, the root cause of the problem might be medical (some sort of deficiency in your diet, hormonal issue, or other undiagnosed health problem). My mother is around your age with a similar problem, and her hairstylist told her it might be good to check with a doctor to see if there's a medical reason for her hairfall. So, it might be best to see a doctor if you think something like that could be wrong. Always best to be safe!

Purple Enthusiast SleepyTangles's Avatar
    Type
    2a/2b/F/ii

Unless you are taking the supplements for medical reasons, I'd stop them for now and see how it goes.
    In general supplements are meant to be taken for a limited time... So either way stopping is not a bad thing (again,
    unless there's a medical condition to keep under control).