Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Hair oiling

Default Hair oiling

Hi! I've "tried" to oil my hair a few times in the past but have mostly failed probably due to using sticky oils straight out of the bottle. My hair does seem to like almond oil though, and I've always been surprised at how well it absorbs overnight. Added bonus is my hair looks pretty good the next day and I usually don't need conditioner which a plus going into static season. I have some JBCO but I remember that being a sticky one too.

Are they supposed to be thinned out with other oils? Are they supposed to be applied warm, massaged in, wrapped in a towel?

I kind of just work it through with my fingers and go to bed, then wash the next morning.

Length
    SL/MBL/HL
    Type
    2c/F/ii

Default Re: Hair oiling

I am a newbie here, so will be following this to see what the more experienced and knowledgeable people have to say, but you might find this article (which those helpful people directed me to) useful: https://science-yhairblog.blogspot.com/search?q=oil. Though, does anyone know where hazelnut oil would fall in that ranking?

So far, almond oil is the only one that my hair seems to like; I use it straight out of the bottle, worked through with my fingers, sleep with it wrapped up on my head (to keep it warm), and then wash it out per my usual routine (conditioner only washing) the next morning. It has also helped my scalp during times when it was feeling dry, itchy, or had dandruff.

Babasu oil has been recommended to me (I have fine hair), but, sadly, I cannot find it where I live (same as palm oil). I avoid comedogenic oils that could cause skin issues (coconut, capric, avocado, mustard seed, and corn oil), and avoid canola due to the health concern surrounding it. Olive oil and sunflower oil, though fine for my skin, never wash out with a single shower, and leave my hair looking like an oil slick (my hair is not thick, so is weighed down easily).