Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Picked up an awful habit. Tips to break it?

Length
    Chin/HL/Term
    Type
    1b/1c/F/M/iii

Default Picked up an awful habit. Tips to break it?

I spend a lot of time sitting at my desk, and over the last year or so I picked up an awful habit (likely stress related):

Hair chewing.

A lot of the time I don't even realize that I'm doing it (though I'm trying to be more conscious of it). I know it's going to end up ruining any of the 'good' I'm doing with my hair (that I neglected for too many years) and so I'm looking for solutions.

There's the obvious 'wear it up' answer, but I'm not very good at braiding (and worry that I might be doing more harm than good with it) and although I've pretty much mastered the cinnabun, I only have claw clips to hold it in place (and again, I worry they do more harm than good). Right now, buying anything new isn't an option.

Any help you kind folks could offer is greatly appreciated!

I can definitely see myself spending multiple hours here.

Length
    CBL/WL/HIP
    Type
    1c/2a/F/M/ii

Default Re: Picked up an awful habit. Tips to break it?

Put a leave in on your hair. Once you taste it you'll likely be jolted and realize what you've done.
    CBL 2015 - BCL 2019

⋆Hangin out⋆

Length
    Pixie/TBL/???
    Type
    2b/2c/M/ii

Braiding does more good than harm unless you get a lot of tangles taking it out. Similarly, claw clips still protect most of your hair without causing huge amounts of damage to what they touch, especially if you take a nail file and smooth out any sharp edges you can reach with it. Any one style might cause you a few splits or problems if you wear them daily for a few years but you've already got two things you can do right now, plus maybe a peacock twist if your claw clips are big enough and your hair's not too long.