Thread: Ladies, has your hair thinned over the years, and what have you done to stop it?

Length
    33"/33"/50"

Default Ladies, has your hair thinned over the years, and what have you done to stop it?

I was born with a thick mane of hair, but I noticed it felt a little finer in college. I sort of dismissed it, thinking it was stress-related (I also had dark circles under my eyes and I lost weight, and both of these problems went away after I graduated). By age 24, it felt even finer, but I'm now 30, and it's the same as it was when I was 24.

Have other women experienced this? I went to a doctor, and he said there's genetic component to it. Another one said I could go onto some sort of medication to thicken it up.

Have any of you gotten your thick hair back?

Length
    CBL/TBL/TBL
    Type
    2a/2b/F/M/ii

Default Re: Ladies, has your hair thinned over the years, and what have you done to stop it?

I had ultra thick hair as a kid! And lots of it, too. However, as I became a teen, it just became normal to fine type of hair over time and I also had a normal amount of it. I tried all sorts of stuff but also have to agree that it's mainly (if not completely) a genetics thing and not something you can really control unless it's something specific causing it like something missing from your diet. While I never did get my thick hair back, I found tons of tips and tricks to make my hair appear full and thick and that's good enough for me

This stuff can be extremely stressful so while you explore any potential options, I really recommend to look into methods for increasing hair volume, giving the appearance of fuller hair (a blunt hemline, for example, really helps me) and so on.

Length
    Chin/Class/Class
    Type
    2b/2c/F/iii

Default Re: Ladies, has your hair thinned over the years, and what have you done to stop it?

Quote Originally Posted by OpalArrowhead View Post