Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Any tips on how to fade hair color?

Length
    BSL/Hip?/Hip
    Type
    2b/M/ii

Default Any tips on how to fade hair color?

Okay, a little back story...

I graduated beauty school to become a nail tech not long ago. I have an interview scheduled on this coming up Tuesday at this really nice spa. I really, really want to work there. Its everything I've been looking for in a salon/spa.

So... on to the main topic of this thread. The spa emailed me a copy of the dress code so that i can dress appropriately. And low and behold... "Hair color should be subtle and in a natural hue (no un-natural or drastic colors)."

Like I said, I really want this job. So, unfortunately I need to change my hair. No more bright red and purple hair.

I need to fade out the red and purple so I can dye it brown. And I was wondering if anyone had any tips on how to help fade it out fast. I've heard washing with dish soap works, but I imagine that would be extremely drying. Also if anyone can recommend a nice shade of brown, I'd appreciate it.

And just FYI, in case anyone was wondering, The red was not bleached. I used a dye made for dark hair. The bangs and tips were of course bleached.

Here are a few pics of my hair now, to give you an idea.

And here is an old pic of my hair with its natural color. Please forgive the lame myspace pose.

R.I.P. Bright Red hair, I'll miss you.

Uh... I did resize the photos, so IDK why they look huge.

Oh, the humidity! woolyleprechaun's Avatar
    Length
    1inch/38/??
    Type
    2b/2c/M/ii

Default Re: Any tips on how to fade hair color?

None of your pics look too bright anyway.....What kind of beauty spa is that fussy about hair?! I bet they have bleached-white-blonde girls there. Mabe you could try just putting a temp brown over it just to take the edge off? Red fades very fast of its own accord.

Length
    2''/APL/?
    Type
    1b/F/ii

I would get myself a wig.