Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Bleach on healthy hair... how bad will it be?

Length
    12/20ish/26+
    Type
    2a/F/M/ii

Default Bleach on healthy hair... how bad will it be?

So if any of you have seen my really silly prior posts about all my failed attempts at removing indigo/henna, you'll know I'm at my wit's end and am about to go to a stylist to have them do a strand test with bleach.

I have never, ever bleached my hair before, and am seriously considering a haircut versus that dry, crunchy look I've seen on women who endlessly bleach their tresses. You know the look... obviously damaged hair.

However, I would only be bleaching once if my hair does not go green, so... would my hair fry at one go? My hair type is... I dunno... very similar to Asian hair, except I'm not Asian. It's very, very fine and silky, but I have a lot of hair.

Since I've never done bleach before and have only seen what it looks like after multiple uses... can anyone lend advice as to what I'm in for? Can hair be repaired after bleaching to restore it to its original state? Or will it permanently ruin the health?

Thanks for reading!
    Last edited by WoolSweater; October 15th, 2013 at 04:09 PM. Reason: Spelling error
    Bob*Lifeless collarbone length * Healthy and shiny APL*MBL+

Sunscreen obsessed weirdo kaydana's Avatar
    Length
    BSL/TBL/TBL
    Type
    2a/M/ii

Default Re: Bleach on healthy hair... how bad will it be?

It was only a few hours ago that you posted about your scalp hurting because of all the colour removing/lightening treatments you've done.

Give your hair/scalp a break before doing anything else to it.

Type
    3a/3b/F/iii

Asian hair is typically coarse, not fine, so it doesn't sound like you have Asian-type hair at all. Fine hair is usually more prone to damage--and no, damage cannot be repaired at all. Strand testing is definitely the way to go, but if you have any doubts, don't bleach.