Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Hard water breakthrough!

Length
    27/42.5/46
    Type
    1c/2a/M/ii

Default Hard water breakthrough!

I moved (temporarily) to London in January, and my hair and I have been battling the super hard water ever since. I have tried literally EVERYTHING--vinegar rinses, lemon rinses, catnip, moisture treatments, henna, cutting off 4 inches, clarifying more frequently, stretching washes, benign neglect, eliminating leave-ins so there's less "gunk"... Nothing seemed to be helping, and my hair was dull and tangly and just generally icky. Then, yesterday, I stumbled across the (old) Miracle Water thread http://www.longhaircommunity.com/arc...ad.php?t=51184. Basically, the idea is that citric acid chelates minerals in hard water so they don't build up on hair. I had been using diluted lemon juice as a final rinse for several months, but it did not seem to be helping as much as I would like, so why not try using VERY diluted lemon water for the whole hair washing process?
    So, I tried the following routine: Saturate hair with tap water mixed with lemon juice at a dilution of 1 drop juice per cup of water. Shampoo hair (I washed the length and ends as well because I needed a clarify, but otherwise I would just focus on the scalp). Rinse well with more of the dilute lemon juice mix. Saturate ends in catnip tea then pour over hair (I've been using catnip instead of conditioner to cut down on splits and avoid conditioner buildup). Do not rinse out catnip. Plain water directly from the shower did not touch my hair at all during this process.
    I waited for my hair to dry a bit without touching it, then I put in about 3 drops of baby oil as usual and damp bunned it.