Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Debating a big change

Length
    18/bob/n/a
    Type
    1b/F/i/ii

Default Debating a big change

EDIT:
    I did it--got it all chopped off! I've got real before and afters coming, but for now here's this one.

It feels so, so good.

(original post from here on)

I've been growing out my hair healthily since September 2011. Buns almost all the time, gentle combing, no heat, etc. and it's been much healthier.

The problem is that I'm bored. My hair looks the same constantly! I'm used to switching up hairstyles, and while I can switch my part/curl/braid, it's not doing it for me anymore. So I've been debating getting it cut short.

PROS
    -I'm going away for a year to a country that's quite cold. Beanies are not going to look good on the hair I have right now, but they will with a cut.
    -I've always wanted to try short hair out but I've never been brave enough.
    -I'd like to not have to worry about my ends for a while, especially when I'm overseas and focusing on school, and short hair would offer me more wiggle room as far as taking care of it goes since I'd be getting it cut more regularly.
    -as far as my style goes it would make me so much happier to have a change.

CONS
    -short hair is a pain to grow out, and my hair grows at a very average pace.
    -if I don't like it I'm stuck with it.

Obviously I'm going to use the two week rule here, but I just want some input. From those of you who have cut your hair short, how have you decided what cuts would suit your face? I have an excellent hairdresser so I'm not worried about not getting what I want, but I am worried about becoming bored again or not feeling like it flatters me.

Here're a couple photos of me, for reference. Tell me if you can't see them:
    http://d1oi94rh653f1l.cloudfront.net...b_23022228.jpg
    http://d1oi94rh653f1l.cloudfront.net...6_24575435.jpg
    (They're from my personal photo diary, please excuse them!)