Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Accidently bought a product containing 'dimethicone' - use or bin?

Length
    APL/Waist/Hip
    Type
    1a/1b/F/ii

Default Accidently bought a product containing 'dimethicone' - use or bin?

Hello again,

I'd posted this on a UK only thread but i didn't get any reply, so i decided to open it up to all of you.

Basically, i bought the same product i've been buying for the last 4 months only to get home and find out they've changed the ingredients so it's no longer 'cone free.

It's really cheap brand store stuff do i don't mind binning it. But what to you guys think? Will it damage my previously 'cone free hair?
    I went 'cone free because the ends of my hair are really fragile because i'm growing out damage from years ago, i heard that 'cones seal out the moisture and obviously i wanted to baby my ends so had to stop that.

So, to bin or not to bin?
    I could use the 'cone bottles up before new year and start 'cone free again in January?
    Either way i'd love to hear your thoughts.

Thanks again
    Goal: Waist length hair, then maintain until hemline thickens. Avatar taken :1stFebruary 2011

Length
    Chin/Bra/WKs?
    Type
    3b/3c/F/M/i/ii

Default Re: Accidently bought a product containing 'dimethicone' - use or bin?

Personally, I wouldn't use it. If you're currently focusing on the health of your hair more than its appearence, then I would say stay away from the 'cones until you get your hair's quality where you want it, and then throw in a 'cone whenever it works or if your hair agrees with it.

I do know that 'cones can coat hair and some people need to wash the coating off with a clarifying shampoo, so if you want your hair to be open to all the babying while its growing, I would suggest avoiding the coney stuff.

Hope I could help!

Length
    #1 BC/neck/TBL
    Type
    1c/2a/F/M/i/ii