Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Perms

Length
    Chin/Class/Class
    Type
    2b/2c/F/iii

Default Perms

I've been growing out a perm for a few years now, a perm which I got for practical reasons. If I were to have the perm cut off right now, my hair would be between chin and shoulder length, which is about the length it was when I had it permed. I'd be back where I started. Not going to happen. My hair's about half an inch away from WL right now.

Are there people out there who had their hair permed before? How did you get rid of the perm? Did you patiently grow it out, all the while keeping your hair long, or did you sacrifice length to get rid of it all at once?

I've been growing my hair since getting it permed, having the odd trim, but not losing sight of my goal length(s). It isn't so bad right now because I have quite a bit of length left that's permed versus virgin length and so the perm is still very practical. However, it's going to get to a point where there's actually more virgin growth versus permed length at which point I might have to sacrifice the length depending on how it looks. I'm just not sure if I can have it all chopped off at once.

And so I'm wondering... How did you do this?
    WCC method (washing) --- Rinse-out oil (MO) --- LOC/LCO method (styling)

Length
    16"/21"/Thigh
    Type
    1c/M/iii

Default Re: Perms

Usually (from the perms I've seen) it seems like the curl loosens enough that it's not too noticable to grow out a perm. Also, because of your hair type, you'll probably get away with it no problem. You could also try braid waves, or wear a lot of up do's. (Up do's will protect fragile ends while you're growing out as well).

Length
    4"/19"/30"
    Type
    1a/1b/F/M/ii