Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Rock and a Hard Place

Default Rock and a Hard Place

Hello Everyone,

This is my first post here so please go easy on me. I am a rock drummer and have been in and out of bands since I was 16 years old. I am now 33 and have finally landed my dream gig. However this does come with some nightmares.

The Manager of the band loves my style of wardrobe and of course style of playing the music. However he is a little disappointed that I do not have the "rock-star long hair". He ordered me to go speak with some PR people that work with the band to discuss a new look for me.

Needless to say it has been suggested that I get hair extensions. I am very very very freaked by that. After doing some google-ing I found this board.

Can anyone please help me get pointed on the right track here. Before you ask a "wig" will just not work. They said extensions or they drop me and find another drummer.

I suppose I am just worried I will look too girlie?? not to mention going into a salon and having this done. And what do I do IF I do this glued in, clamp, really have respect for you gals with naturally long hair!!

Hope you gals can help a rocker with this

Rockman33

Length
    short/19"/term
    Type
    1a/1b/F/ii

Default Re: Rock and a Hard Place

Yay to you for landing a gig!!!! I don't think you need to worry about looking "girlie" Loads of guys have long hair and look all the more manly for it. Don't worry about the salon either, when they see you I'm sure giggling and teasing is the last thing they'll do if you already have the rocker dress down. They've seen it all anyway. As for method, you'll probably need to do more research into it, but the hair dresser will be able to help you out on that decision. There are a LOT of different methods, and each has its ups and downs. DO try to get human hair, though, as it looks best and holds up well. I hope you figure this out! Good luck, and tear up some stage.