Thread: Talk to me about henna build-up

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Length
    17/27/????
    Type
    2b/M/iii

Red face Talk to me about henna build-up

I've been using henna about every two months for over two years and somehow have never heard about henna build up before. Then I clicked on the "Blogs" button and saw this term in the person's blog that popped up.

I did a google search and the only half-way useful information that I got was here. It says Constant build up of henna from over coating the hair can also cause the hair to become brittle and break. So now I'm concerned.

How much/often is "over coating"?

I have noticed some breakage in the lower 1/2 of my hair but that's also the hair left from when I severely damaged it with and ammonia bleach about 2 1/2 years ago. Could the henna that did such good things for my hair in the beginning be damaging it now?

Please share any information you have about this.

TIA

Sig art by Selina French, original image as edited by Lady Ellyse

Length
    Pixie/TB/?
    Type
    1c/2a/M/ii/iii

Huh. I always thought henna build up referred to the accumulation of a deeper, darker colour from repeated henna'ing.

Maybe I'm wrong

-- Natalie

Length
    15"/37"/??
    Type
    2b/C/ii/iii

If it happens to be my blog you're referring to, I just meant that I didn't want the color to accumulate too much.

I've never heard of henna building up in a way that would make the hair brittle. The closest thing I've heard is that Iris (I believe it was her) stopped getting as much shine from henna after awhile. I suppose if you hennaed very frequently without adequately conditioning the hair inbetween, your hair might get dried out or mechanically damaged by the grit. I've also heard people say their hair reacts to henna rather like it reacts to protein, so I can see where repeated henna treatments might cause some brittleness that way.