Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Improvements to your henna procedure?

Type
    2a/2b/M/C/iii

Default Improvements to your henna procedure?

For those who have been doing henna for a while, what improvements have you made to streamline your process?

I've been doing hendigo (roots only) for about 15 years. I read a lot of advice before I got started, but I've gradually ditched some steps that seem unnecessary. I'd love to hear other people's improvements too.

Mix:
    • I used to include amla in my mix since it was supposed to push the color more brown. I couldn't tell the difference, and it smelled ghastly, so I don't bother with it anymore.
    • I used to have special containers for mixing henna. Now I just use my ceramic cereal bowls. They work fine and are easy to clean.

Application:
    • I used to henna only if I'd washed my hair in the last 24 hours, since I worried about scalp oils interfering with the dye. Now I go as long as 48 hours and haven't noticed a difference. This gives me more flexibility in my hair washing schedule.
    • Before applying henna, I used to put lotion on my forehead next to my hairline so my skin wouldn't get stained. This turns out to be unnecessary, since I guess my forehead is already greasy enough.
    • I used to apply henna myself, but I was getting too much overlap and buildup of color. Now my husband applies it for me, since he can see the top of my head and does a better job.
    • We use a tint brush to apply the henna. We switched to a wider brush, and now the process goes more quickly.

Removal:
    This is the area where I've made the biggest improvements.
    • My hair gets really tangled during henna application. (Sectioning my hair makes it tangle.) I used to comb it out with conditioner before rinsing out the henna. I now detangle at the end instead, since a lot of the tangles come out on their own while I rinse in the shower.