Thread: Henna to Platinum Blonde Journey

Length
    3/30/36
    Type
    3b/F/M/ii

Default Henna to Platinum Blonde Journey

I've been growing my curly hair for over 5 years now. Back in May of 2017 I had short platinum blonde hair (basically a pixie) and had struggled to get my hair past shoulder length for several years. My 3B curls have always been difficult to manage and I would always end up frustrated and chop my hair off.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1_do...ew?usp=sharing

Around Christmas of 2017 I had three inches of root growth and decided to go completely natural and cut off all the blonde, leaving myself with 3 inches of hair. I was devastated, but I knew if I wanted long hair I had to stop bleaching it.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1_bU...ew?usp=sharing

Fast forward to 2022, and my hair is now WL with the goal of TBL. I went to three salons trying to brighten up my hair since my very long, ashy light brown hair started to seem boring to me after all these years. Each visit resulted in me being more and more frustrated, however, when the stylists were not listening to what I wanted. I ended up with a balayage and tone that I didn't like, and I started doing some research on henna.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1_up...ew?usp=sharing

I loved everything I heard about it but was scared of how permanent it is believed to be. I also had never tried red or warm colors on my hair because I have a cool complexion, but I shoved my fear away and ordered Khadi's copper hair color and applied it all over my head. And it was amazing. I got so many compliments! It perfectly blended the bad balayage and I was turning heads everywhere I went.

In direct sunlight:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1_vr...ew?usp=sharing

I did a second application two weeks later, because I didn't get the roots good enough and I wanted to darken the blonde parts a bit more.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1_wH...ew?usp=sharing