Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Have silk satin pillowcases/bonnets made a big difference for you?

❤️Heatless hair —see blog Glitch's Avatar
    Length
    CBL/Waist/Hip+
    Type
    2b/2c/F/M/ii

Default Have silk satin pillowcases/bonnets made a big difference for you?

My hair, seemingly out of nowhere, became pretty dry and brittle! I thought it must have been the leave-in conditioner I was trying for the past ~6 months (potential protein overload), so I stopped that and even re-started with a clarifying shampoo but nothing changed. I thought it was perhaps my hair dryer, even though I only use it on cold mode and have never had issues with it before, but stopping that changed nothing either. I oiled my hair too, and while my hair seemed back to normal, it wasn't long before it went all dry again.

I then remembered that my regular silk satin pillow cases went missing due an extreme home renovation and so I've been using a regular cotton pillow for a few months now. I've always slept with my hair open at night over a satin pillow, so basically I've now been sleeping with open hair over cotton. So I'm wondering... do silk satin pillowcases/bonnets etc. truly make this much of a difference?! My hair went from super soft to the Sahara desert.
    No trims since July 10th - just a motivational siggy since I have a hard time keeping my hands from snipping away!

Length
    BSL/Waist/Class
    Type
    2c/3a/M/ii

Default Re: Have silk satin pillowcases/bonnets made a big difference for you?

Yep, I can definitely notice a difference! My hair is way frizzier and drier with a cotton pillowcase compared to a satin one
    Chin • APL • BSL • MBL • WL​ • HL • TBL • CL
    Lady Marie of the Scarlet Kin
    in the Order of the Long Haired Knights

Length
    CBL/Waist/Hip+
    Type
    2b/2c/F/M/ii

Oh wow, I've actually also been having frizz issues (whereas I never have before! Or at least, I can't recall) on top of the dryness :O