Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Weekly Straightening to avoid tangles?

Length
    Pixie/52/Term
    Type
    2b/2c/F/iii

Default Weekly Straightening to avoid tangles?

Good morning!

I have recently tried doing my hair in ways that don't include a braided bun. My hair is knee length and I have been doing the braided bun for about 4 years. It is quick with kids and I don't need to every detangle all of it at the same time. I just take out the braid and lightly comb out the bad parts and put it back up.

Now that I am trying new things I need to detangle my whole head every couple of days and it's been a nightmare. My brush is FULL of hair because of the tangles.
    I have a super wide tooth comb, a regular comb and then my regular brush.

I shampoo and condition once a week.
    I've tried coconut oil on the ends and over the updos/halfdos.
    I've tried using gel/no gel/hairspray/no hairspray
    I've tried (in months past) doing no shampoo (baking soda and vinegar)
    I have some detangler I use everytime (Michael's brand I think- came recommended)

My hair is still a hot mess at the end of the day with huge tangles.

I had a thought to buy a high quality hair straightener and then straighten it the day after wash day so it's smooth for the week. Thoughts? Would this work?
    I NEVER straighten my hair because I have been protecting it for years, but the amount I lose in the hairbrush from tangles I thought it might be worth a try.
    Also, I heard they have sprays you use before straightening to protect it a bit?
    Pixie...Chin...Shoulder...APL...BSL...Waist...Hip...TB...Classic...Knee...Term
    Scissor Free since Nov 2009

Length
    HL/BCL/IDK
    Type
    2a/2b/F/ii

Default Re: Weekly Straightening to avoid tangles?

I think that the best straightener will not save your hair from heat damage. I feel you for the struggles you have, I'm in the same situation (but shorter hair).
    Some heatless straightening method?

Length
    Chin/Class/Class