Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Long hair on the job

Default Long hair on the job

Tell me your work-related long hair stories!

My job is heavily based around work on the computer, so my hair doesn't generate any interest outside typical office social interaction. I'm curious if anyone else's hair has hindered or helped them at work.

Length
    ch/sh/wl
    Type
    2a/M/iii

Default Re: Long hair on the job

I have a funny one! I was lifeguarding at my park earlier this summer when I noticed a child drowning. I jumped in right by them and as soon as I came back up my hair, which was in a disc bun held by a waterproof acrylic stick, completely exploded out of the bun all over my and the victim's faces! We had a good laugh about it after I pulled him out.

Length
    23 cm/80 cm/term
    Type
    1a/1b/F/ii/iii

Well, and I know I've told this story on many threads before, I work in a lab so hair that is longer than about a pixie or so is a work hazard if worn loose. Even a braid can get caught in machines or swing and knock over chemicals and such, so not a good idea. I've always worn my hair fully up into a bun because I don't want it to get in the way, so I haven't had anything happen to me. But one day in lab the only other lady in the lab with hair longer than shoulder length had her hair in a simple braid and we were working with Bunsen burners that day to sterilize some equipment. Her braid swung around when she was turning to grab something and it swung through the flame and caught on fire. Luckily, her braid was long enough that the flame didn't reach her skin before we got it put out, but she lost a good foot or more of hair and had to cut her hair to about chin or shoulder length. That incident along with hearing other horror stories of a similar nature from co-workers have reaffirmed my rule that I always wear my hair fully up and do not wear any hair toys with sticky outy bits into lab. It's not worth the risk. So yeah, as secure and close to th