Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I tried straw curls...

Length
    17/45/40
    Type
    1c/2a/M/C/ii/iii

Default I tried straw curls...

If you don't know what "straw curls" are, they're basically when you create a "curl" using a regular drinking straw - the words in quotations are meant to be read sarcastically, by the way.

So, I had the brilliant idea to try it after seeing pins on Pinterest, posts on Facebook, and different YouTube videos claiming how "amazing" they were and that they "really worked". Again, sarcasm.

Since I'm relatively new to YouTube and overflowing with sarcasm, I decided to try it out and film the entire process - everything from the "I don't know what I'm doing" to the "Oh god, what have I done?!" as well as everything in between. And, let's just say, it went a bit awry...and that's the nicest thing I could say without having to censor out a bunch of expletives.

Firstly, I learned that "straw curls" are essentially just tiny curled dreadlocks that will result in the unholiest of all tangles. Secondly, I learned that it would take a lot of olive oil to work through said tangles. And lastly, that I would never, EVER attempt it again. So, for all those curious about whether or not "straw curls" work for us longer haired girls (or guys), just trust me on this: it doesn't.

If you're curious to see the entire nightmare unfold before your very eyes, I did post a 3-part series. I'm not trying to be all "self promoting", I just thought some of you might enjoy this! Get ready for some laughs and lots of swearing. Seriously, there's a lot even though I tried my best to edit out most of it...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r4oVuJ8-qcw

Length
    neck/mbl/Tbl
    Type
    2c/3a/F/ii

Default Re: I tried straw curls...

Lol I actually think they look rashly cute on you, you have really pretty hair. I can imagine they probably do tangle really easily though.