Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Impossibly Dry Hair

Type
    2b/2c/C/iii

Default Impossibly Dry Hair

Hello! I'm a newbie here, but I've done a lot of research on the forums. Unfortunately, I have been unable to solve my hair problems on my own and would like some personalized advice.

That was then:
    About two years ago, I had beautiful waist length hair that I didn't fully appreciate. I was having severe bacne and chestne issues that I knew was related to my hair habits (conditioner in particular). I decided to get my hair cut to bsl to alleviate these issues. I have had one-length hair my entire life, and didn't ask for layers, but the hair dresser gave me "The Rachel" - shoulder-length layered hair without regards to my initial requests.

This made my thick, curly hair look terribly thin and triangular. I eventually grew it out to apl and cut it back to one length because I couldn't stand the uneven, flippy layers. On top of that, I learned that hair length had nothing to do with my bacne and chestne issues. After lots of research, I learned that the panthenol in my hair products (and silicones) were likely the trigger.

This is now:
    I am currently approximately two inches away from bsl and hope to grow it out to waist length. I have impossibly dry, poofy hair that will not look moisturized no matter what I do with it. I haven't used heat in the past 3 months. I do not believe that I have damage because I do not see split ends and my hemline is still blunt. My hair absolutely hates anything with protein in it. Protein makes my hair felt wiry and strange. Each hair strand looks twice its normal size.

I changed up my routine to this:
    WCC 3X per week (I would go longer, but my hair seems to absorb smells very quickly. For example, if I go for a walk, my hair will have that "air" smell. Does this happen to anyone else?)
    -Burt's Bees More Moisture Shampoo (SLS Free)
    -Renpure Originals Argan Oil Luxurious Conditioner

Leave-ins: