Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Using a pencil as a stick

Account Closed by Member Request
    Length
    SL/BSL/BSL/W
    Type
    2a/F/i

Default Using a pencil as a stick

Hey guys, sorry for the multiple threads recently, im trying to find the best way of securing my hair! Spin pins rarely hold, elastics break my hair, beak clips (with teeth) are okay but sometimes pull or strands get caught in the hinge. I've tried 2 pronged stick type things that were very smooth and shiny that didn't hold - maybe too slippery for my hair? Anyway I'm tempted to try using a pencil! I figured it might have more grip. My hair is insanely slippy. The only bun I've mastered is a cinnabun but I want to try others in conjunction with the pencil stick. Any tricks I should know of to help me? Bun types/tension/position etc? I'm a total novice!

My hair is baby fine and just past shoulder and as I said, very slippy!

Length
    BSL/Calf/Term?
    Type
    2a/2b/M/C/iii

Default Re: Using a pencil as a stick

At around shoulder-length, the things I'd recommend the most are claw-clips / jaw-clips. They are perfect for shorter length, they are hair-friendly and they really hold very well even slippery hair. I'd recommend peacock twists at this length.

I'm not surprised forks didn't work for you yet... I think they require much longer hair... and the same applies to pencils, I'm afraid. I just can't see a pencil holding shoulder-length hair, because I can't imagine what pencil bun would work... But there is certainly no harm in trying!

There is nothing wrong about using a pencil. I find that they can snag hair if the sharpened end isn't smooth enough. Because you are dealing with relatively shorter hair my preferred style was the french braid. Which you can tuck the tail back into itself and secure with a stick to get it off your neck.