Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Opinions on Heat Protestant

Length
    25.5/25.5/45
    Type
    1b/1c/F/ii

Default Opinions on Heat Protestant

Hi all.

Maybe this a dumb question but I wanted to gather everyone's thoughts on heat protectant. I try to use heat as little as possible when styling, but I do use hot rollers about once per week.
    I am concerned about the alcohol content drying out my hair even more. I am currently using a cheap drug-store (I think Tresseme?) brand for Fine hair.

Any advice would be very helpful.
    I am new to LHC and still learning

(speaking of which, if anyone can additionally guide me on how to edit my signature, that would be highly appreciated as well).

Thanks all!

Length
    26/FTL/47
    Type
    1c/2a/M/C/ii

Default Re: Opinions on Heat Protestant

Heat Protestant or protectant?

I can't help you out on that, but I can about your siggy. You can edit it once you can access your profile; you can access you profile once you have reached 25 posts. Here's a link to some commonly asked questions:
    http://forums.longhaircommunity.com/...d.php?t=114999

Edited to add: Nice to meet you! I hope you find what you're looking for here.
    Last edited by Entangled; August 7th, 2014 at 08:10 PM.

Length
    2"/38"/?
    Type
    1a/F/ii

Hi! From what I understand, heat protectants somewhat work if you use a low temperature setting and minimize the duration of heat exposure. They don't prevent damage; they just lessen it a little bit. Unless you are using high temps and long exposure--then your hair will fry no matter what you spray on it. Certain ingredients are more effective than others as well. Here is an interpretation of a study on heat protectants. It can guide you on which ingredients to look for: http://www.brightestbulbinthebox.com...ling-heat.html.

If you want to read the original article she is referencing, she pasted the address to the pdf at the bottom of the molecule diagram.