Thread: Heat Protectors?

Length
    16 in/23 in/30 in
    Type
    1c/2a/F/ii

Default Heat Protectors?

I searched for a thread on this but couldn't find anything.
    I am relatively new here so bare (bear?) with me as I am not a hair expert by any means.

1. I don't want to use cones daily anymore because after a month of daily use my hair has suddenly reacted by being very greasy at the roots and very dry and damaged at the ends and I need to wash about every 18 hours (!!)
    2. I have to blow dry my hair every day in the winter because I walk to work and in my area it's about 20-30 degrees (F) from November to April. Going out in the cold with wet hair has shown to be very quickly damaging. In the summer I don't blow-dry.
    3. A heat-protector has been recommended by all the YouTube hair-girls I sometimes watch. And it sounds like a good idea-- however I have recently noticed that the heat protectors are cone heavy.

I just bought Tresemme Thermal Creations ("Heat Tamer Leave-in Spray"). I didn't look at the ingredients at the store because I was tired of shopping and wanted to get home.
    The 2nd ingredient after water is amodimethicone. The 5th ingredient (after PEG-12 which isn't great either) is dimethicone. This sounds bad for my hopes i de-coning...

My question is how can I protect my hair from the heat of the necessary blow-drying (I ain't getting up an hour earlier than I do!) and not get cone-build up? Are there heat-protectors with no cones? Are heat protectors a bunch of bologna?

Thanks to anyone who has some experience with this.

Type
    1c/F/i

Default Re: Heat Protectors?

Yes there are cone free heat protectants. Got this list from http://www.naturallycurly.com/curlta...otectants.html
    Silicone Free Heat Protectants◦Abba Pure Thermal Protect Spray
    ◦Aveda Brilliant Damage Control
    ◦Giovanni Vitapro Fusion Leave-In Hair Treatment
    ◦Hask Placenta Straight Solution
    ◦Sedu Volumizing Heat Protecting Boost