Page 1 of 52 1231151 ... LastLast

Thread: Is your hair long for religious/spiritual reasons?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Length
    18apl/31wst/36tb
    Type
    2c/M/i

Question Is your hair long for religious/spiritual reasons?

(I hope it's okay to ask something like this...I'm still a newbie here, and I wasn't sure where to put this post.)

The title pretty much sums it up...I know that some religions have grooming/modesty standards, and I've seen a few churches where it seemed like all the women had long hair, so I guessed it was probably part of the faith. But I never really knew for sure.
    In my case, it's not something my religion asks or requires, but it is something I feel spiritual about...having long hair, and the time and care involved in growing it, makes me feel more in touch with nature and the Divine, you know? And I really like that.
    What about you?

Type
    3a/3b/M/ii

Default Re: Is your hair long for religious/spiritual reasons?

Well, I'm Jewish, and we're not supposed to cut our hair, but that's not the only reason I'm growing it.
    I'm growing it because I like it, and because a lot of the people around here don't appreciate long hair, and I want to be able to show them that having long, healthy hair is possible.

Length
    1/4/short/n/a
    Type
    1c/2a/M/ii/iii

Yes and no.

I started growing my hair long for religious reasons. I was attending an apostolic pentecostal church and long hair was part of the doctrine. I have since left that church and I don't think long hair is required by God. I am continuing to grow anyway (a) because I like my long hair and (b) I am still studying my beliefs and praying about what God really wants.

ETA: It's a miracle in of itself that I didn't cut as soon as I left the church. That tends to be how my personality works. If someone tells me I have to do something, I do the opposite. But... I love my hair so I'm keeping it.