Thread: Tea Rinses: The Good, The Bad, The Useless

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Length
    5/5/TBD
    Type
    2a/2b/M/iii

Lightbulb Tea Rinses: The Good, The Bad, The Useless

I'm still pretty new to LHC haircare and after learning a few things, I've discovered that I would really like to try doing a tea rinse eventually.

But! I can't find a thread specifically about tea rinses. So here it is I guess.

If you use tea rinses or ever have used a tea rinse, what worked best for you? What does it do for you? Is there a tea that didn't work for you at all? Is there one that somehow did bad things to your hair?

Personally, I'm more willing to try tea rinses over other kinds of herbal haircare because I conveniently already LOVE drinking tea, so if it doesn't work for my hair it'll work for my stomach (...except mint teas, as my stomach dislikes minty things. So no mint for me).
    Pixie to Ears to Chin to Shoulders to APL to BSL (to Waist?)
    Current challenge(s): No Trim 2020
    Last trim/cut: February 2020

Length
    22/31/term
    Type
    2c/F/i

Default Re: Tea Rinses: The Good, The Bad, The Useless

Wow. Two days and no responses! That is odd.
    I dilute my shampoo or soap with tea. And I often do a final tea rinse. I use primarily unscented products so I use the tea as a scent, and also because
    I think the herbs are good for the scalp. I like flowers for conditioning like lavender and hibiscus and chamomile. And I like rosemary and basil
    for the scalp. And I use distilled water to make the tea so the final rinse is a distilled water/herbal rinse which takes off the hard water.

I have a book that describes which herbs are good for the scalp and which ones are good for the length of the hair.

Every week I'll make a tea batch according to my preferences and store it in the fridge.