PDA

View Full Version : No Poo Question

xltorresx
August 12th, 2012, 09:05 AM
Hey, I'm new to all of this, and I'm considering going no poo. I was wondering what you guys use to get deep conditioning treatments or oil out of your hair? Does baking soda work for that?

sarah112786
August 12th, 2012, 09:08 AM
I always wonder the same thing! Good question! I always end up just using shampoo to get oil out even though I don't really want to. :-(

Dziip
August 12th, 2012, 09:09 AM
From my experice, Baking SOda defenitly works on oils and grease.

ravenreed
August 12th, 2012, 09:25 AM
CO removes oil from hair better than shampoo, in my experience. I am almost completely CO at this point, and only shampoo to remove buildup every 3 months or so.

dixid
August 12th, 2012, 09:26 AM
Baking soda removes oil treatments from my hair very well. Once or twice I've had to use an extra bs wash, but that was my fault for getting carried away with the oil.

Dziip
August 12th, 2012, 09:30 AM
You have to learn how much BK you need. Because it can dry your hair too.

xltorresx
August 12th, 2012, 09:32 AM
Thanks for your replies girls :)

I think I probably over do it with the oil too, because I tried washing with conditioner and it didn't take very much of the oil off at all. So ill give the baking soda a try today :)

ravenreed
August 12th, 2012, 09:44 AM
Do you let the conditioner set for a bit? I slather mine on when I first hop in the shower. Then I wash everything, shave, etc., and by the time I get around to rinsing out the conditioner, it has removed all the excess oil. What I like it that it doesn't over strip my hair while doing it.

spidermom
August 12th, 2012, 09:47 AM
Conditioner removes heavy oilings from my length, too.

heidi w.
August 12th, 2012, 10:17 AM
Thanks for your replies girls :)

I think I probably over do it with the oil too, because I tried washing with conditioner and it didn't take very much of the oil off at all. So ill give the baking soda a try today :)