PDA

View Full Version : Is anyone's hair coarser this time around?

CurlyCap
August 10th, 2012, 08:46 PM
I did a big chop almost two years ago.

If you had asked me at that time, I would have said I had fine and medium strands. However, as my hair is growing out this time, I have at least a 3rd coarse strands.

This is really surprising to me because I had coarse hair as a child, but it became finer with puberty. And here it is again, lots and lots of coarse strands.

Has anyone else noticed a change in strand thickness after a big cut?

I'm wondering if my hair care routine really has had this much affect on the thickness of my strands!

Dziip
August 10th, 2012, 08:52 PM
Well, if it is your routine, you really have to tell me what you do :)
But I have no experience and my post is so not helping... sorry

CurlyCap
August 10th, 2012, 08:56 PM
Well, if it is your routine, you really have to tell me what you do :)
But I have no experience and my post is so not helping... sorry

I don't do anything special with my hair. It's just typical curly girl method that's been adjusted for my specific head.

What I meant was, before my chop, I had the "Oh, my hair is long," approach to hair care. I knew that worst case scenario was to chop 2-3 inches...and my hair would still be long. So while I took care of my hair, I was often more harsh with it than I would ever be now. And I wonder if haircare routines really make a difference like that.

Also, I'm curious about whether my strands will become gradually finer with length...and maybe that's what I remember. :)

PrettyFit
August 10th, 2012, 09:12 PM
I don't do anything special with my hair. It's just typical curly girl method that's been adjusted for my specific head.