PDA

View Full Version : Desperate for help

kallarina
August 2nd, 2012, 08:58 PM
I have a hair appointment in the morning. I'm putting bleach on my hair to break up the old color. I know it's not the best option, but it is the most effective, and I can't stand two toned hair anymore. I'm not looking for a lecture on that.
My problem is that my hair dresser (who is a close personal friend) doesn't want me to put coconut oil on prior to bleaching. She seems to think that it will prevent the bleach from working and that it won't lighten because the bleach will spend so much time eating through the coconut oil and won't have any time to eat through the color (since bleach only works for a certain amount of time).
My mom just told me that the hairdresser wanted her to tell me that she's begging me to not show up to the appointment tomorrow with coconut oil in my hair (because I previously told her that I was doing it anyway). I don't know what to do. I have no personal experience with using coconut oil prior to bleaching, but I've heard so many people say it really helps negate damage. Which is why I felt okay making the appointment to do this, because I thought I would have something to help prevent damage. The thought of just putting bleach straight on my hair makes me feel sick.
Normally, I would just make the appointment with someone else who would be more willing to work with my choice of putting the oil on. But she's a family friend. I can't do that.
So. Do I do it anyway? Will it still work as well as if there was no oil? Will I be able to prove her wrong with it, or will I waste her time because I'll do it and then the bleach won't work?
Advice, please?
Thanks for reading this far, and thanks in advance for replies.

lmfbs
August 2nd, 2012, 09:04 PM
I believe that coconut oil does help prevent damage. I have no scientific evidence to back that up, just anecdotal evidence.