PDA

View Full Version : HELP Can anything repair my relaxed cuticle OR do I have to CUT it all?

PrettyFit
August 1st, 2012, 12:01 PM
Hi ALL! :D

I am new to this community but I have been reading for 6 months now. I have been growing my hair for 5 months, transforming my hair care routine. I have incorporated some weekly co washing and one hennaing. I am also reducing use of heat, sulfates and cones. In doing so, I have revealed that my hair’s real (un-coned, air dried) surface it is not as shiny. I know that relaxers lift and damage the cuticle, but my hair used to appear shiny and strong, so I thought my hair could handle it.

Also, in it's relaxed state, I have always had longer hair than in it's natural state due to less mechanical breakage. I could never grow my natural hair past shoulder length. My natural hair is thick and strong and shiny. However, its natural state, it is very time consuming to manage. Even with muscling through the tangles, it took me 4 hours just to comb it all out and twist shoulder length 3c/4a hair. I can only imagine how long it would take me to carfully untangle longer hair.

My goal is to have shiny, healthy WL hair with a thick hemline. I am not a fan of transitioning with two textures on one head-- so my option would be to cut it all off or keep growing and try to salvage my current relaxed hair.

Through the use of castor oil and my gentle hair care methods, I have regained a lot of thickness. After trimming for 5 months, I have finally reached my goal of having a thick APL hemline. This is my deciding point. I will either grow long from here or start over.

Is there anything I can do to smooth my cuticle before cutting it all off? Here’s what I have done so far:
1 Henna / Indigo two step treatment (planning to do more of those along with other herbal treatments)
Weekly light protein treatments, followed by deep moisturizing
ACV rinses