PDA

View Full Version : Should I use a color stripper or just bleach it??

mommy2Bxo
July 28th, 2012, 07:34 PM
My natural hair color is a golden light/medium blonde and I've been dying my hair dark brown for about 2 years and it looked almost black, eventhough I have never actually dyed it black. I have my roots grown out some and the rest of my hair has faded to more of a brown instead of black, but still some parts look black. I was wondering if I should use a hair stripper to remove the color or is it better to just bleach it and then dye it the color I want?
Thank you !!

sunshine-locks
July 28th, 2012, 07:59 PM
I'd probably use the colour stripper if I were you, it's less damaging :)
Also, it would leave you with more of your natural colour than if you bleached the brown out.

akilina
July 28th, 2012, 08:07 PM
I would try color oops. It is almost absolutely non damaging in my experience.
If you used permanent dye though your hair will never get back to its natural color. You could try an application of color oops then see where you were at.

If you were going to color oops though, afterwards I would wait a few washes to color your hair again. I have noticed that my hair re darkens sometimes and I heard someone mention this could have been because I did not rinse well enough.

Another option would be possibly after color oops and once you have seen where you are at: Mix up yourself a "shampoo cap" Get some powder bleach and developer. You mix those two with shampoo and wash your hair with it, and let it set in your hair for a little while.

You could also do a couple of applications of color oops after the first. It is all about the strength and condition of your hair in the present though. Use your best judgement of what your hair can handle.

mzBANGBANG
July 28th, 2012, 08:36 PM