PDA

View Full Version : Question for people who have tried no shampoo method

qijino1236
July 28th, 2012, 06:06 AM
I have some question for experienced users of the no shampoo method.

For those that do no 'poo is it okay to at least do a clarifying shampoo once in a while or does that defeat the purpose?

I was thinking of doing no 'poo but I heard not to use olive oil if doing no 'poo. Have you tried no 'poo? Should you or should you or not use olive oil when trying no 'poo

DarkCurls
July 28th, 2012, 06:10 AM
There are many no-shampoo methods. Are you talking water-only, conditioner-only, or baking soda and ACV, or something else? :p

I've tried water-only (WO) and conditioner-only (CO), and I'm sure you can work out what they are. It's okay to clarify once in a while (though I don't think there's a point when you're WO), definitely okay for CO at least. Can't say much for the baking soda thing though... though I've heard it's a harsh clarifier so there would be no need?
You can use oil with most washing methods. Or you could just do a deep oil treatment once every couple weeks and wash it out with a different method than usual.

Amber_Maiden
July 28th, 2012, 06:18 AM
There are many no poo methods; water only, acv only, baking soda and acv, sebum only, conditioner only...

When I went no poo, for awhile, I did use oil on my ends, because they are dry.

lmfbs
July 28th, 2012, 06:27 AM
I've tried CO, WO, ACV only, BS & ACV.

I'm currently CO with a mix of coney and cone-free conditioner, and I clarify around about every 6 weeks.

I use coconut oil because my hair doesn't like EVOO so much, but I've never had a problem with extra buildup from oil.

earthnut
July 28th, 2012, 11:36 AM
It's OK to clarify once in a while. Some conditioners build up on the hair, some people get more build up than others.

Oils are perfectly OK for no-poo, even olive oil. Oils can be washed out with conditioner. Conditioners have mild surfactants in them, so they do clean.

earthnut