PDA

View Full Version : What am I doing wrong here?

Texas Kass
July 26th, 2012, 05:34 PM
I have BSL, type 1c/2a, fine to medium, ii thickness hair. I shampoo only 2 or 3 times per week, and when I do, use just a small amount and only massage it into my scalp. I then use globs upon globs of conditioner and let it sit for about 5 minutes before rinsing. I don't use cold water because I find cold showers highly unpleasant, but I don't let the hot water touch my hair. I turn it down to barely lukewarm for my hair. When I dry my hair, I first squeeze out excess water with my hands. I don't briskly rub a towel all over my hair. I simply place it on my head and fold it around my length to absorb moisture. I then finger-comb my hair and wait until it dries more before using a wide-toothed comb to gently comb it from the ends up. This has been my normal routine for 2 years.

More recently, I have discovered S&D, which I have been doing for a couple of months now. I got so fed up with it that I decided to cut layers into my hair, thinking it would get rid of a lot of the split ends. I just did my third henna application, which I started doing because I thought it would prevent split ends. Yet, I've found a whole new slew of split ends, even in my new layers!

There are a couple of factors that are beyond my control: I live in West Texas. It's a very dry climate, and it's almost always very windy. Also, the water is very hard.

What, within reason, can I do to protect my hair and prevent split ends that I'm not doing? Any advice would be appreciated! Thank you in advance!

ratgirldjh
July 26th, 2012, 05:41 PM
Welcome to LHCF! :)

I also live in Texas and we have hard water too and it can be quite windy. If it is windy I wear my hair up. I never let my hair flap around in the wind. I have no idea what it would do to my hair but I can't stand the feeling of my hair in my face!

I would suggest wearing your hair up or in a braid or if it is really bad under a scarf or bandana.