PDA

View Full Version : Hard water?

bunnylake
July 26th, 2012, 06:47 AM
This weekend I'm going to visit some relatives in Maryland, and I believe they have hard water there. Where I live in NY, the water is soft. Should I bother buying a special shampoo for my trip down there? (I'm normally a daily shampooer). I have no experience with hard water so I'm not sure!

Amapola
July 26th, 2012, 08:02 AM
Our water is very hard (we have a well) and I have no problem. I don't do anything special for it, not even when I go elsewhere and use different water. For me, anyway, it is not a problem.

EndlessSunshine
July 26th, 2012, 08:07 AM
If you were moving there then I would recommend getting a chelating shampoo. I use garnier fructis pure clean clear 2in1 it is silicone free, dye free, and paraben free. It has SLS and three kinds of acids. It doesn't say it is a chelating shampoo but it works well and isn't drying for my scalp. It also keeps my hair shiny. I use it twice a month.

OrganicJewel
July 26th, 2012, 08:18 AM
you could do acv rinses to help with the hard water while you're there. I have pretty much the hardest water possible and they do help in between clarifying.

Neecola
July 26th, 2012, 08:19 AM
I have very hard water and it does affect my hair. But I doubt that you would see much effect over a weekend. What about following with an ACV or citric acid rinse?

Vivalagina
July 26th, 2012, 08:47 AM
A final rinse with citric acid (I dilute it 1/8 tsp to 3 pints distilled water) works for me. I live in a city with hard/very hard water and that does the trick.

heidi w.
July 26th, 2012, 09:23 AM
It's just a temporary stay. I wouldn't do anything special about the hard water situation. Your hair will be fine, overall.

heidi w.

heidi w.
July 26th, 2012, 09:25 AM
I have very hard water and it does affect my hair. But I doubt that you would see much effect over a weekend. What about following with an ACV or citric acid rinse?