PDA

View Full Version : For a healthier hair? (Pics inside)

daredevil14
July 25th, 2012, 08:42 AM
Hey all,

I am a guy with shoulder-length hair, I've been growing it out for 2 years now, my hair is originally black of type frizzy/wavy... the first year witnessed 3 chemical-straightenings with no care at all (no conditioning, terrible shampoos...) and also with wet brushing... yes I had no awareness AT ALL! It indeed damaged my hair and changed its color...

Now during my 2nd year, I made some huge improvements, starting with a routine conditioning all the way to combing when soaking wet with conditioners. My hair definitely got more healthier and became more curly (which what I really like and want!)

Now I am starting the CG method, I made my last sulfate-poo to clear any silicone but I also discovered that the silicone-free conditioner which I have has a sulfate lauryl sodium (SLS) which left me confused!

Anyway here are pics of my hair, the 2nd pic shows the inside part of my back hair (taken apart) which doesn't look healthy at all, now how can I treat this and improve the health of my hair in general?

http://i50.tinypic.com/2cdwvvd.jpg

http://i50.tinypic.com/2egejjc.jpg

salamander
July 25th, 2012, 09:04 AM
You have great curl structure! Your hair actually doesn't look too damaged from what I can tell, don't despair too much. First step, especially for a curly, is going to be add moisture. I like wetting my hair down, loading it up with coconut oil, and letting it sit under a cap for a few hours before washing it out, but there are many options for deep treatments if that one doesn't work for your hair, look around the site a little and you'll find lots of recipes. You may need to do protein treatments at some point, since you have chemical damage, but curlies almost always need moisture so that's a great place to start.

sun-kissed
July 25th, 2012, 09:06 AM