PDA

View Full Version : Vitiligo in the hair.

AnthonyB93
July 23rd, 2012, 12:55 AM
This may be a long shot, but does anyone here have ventiligo that's spread into their hair? I do. I get SOOOOOOOOOO many questions about my natural white streaks in my hair. Questions like "Did you dye it?", "Were you born with it.", ... I love it! I didn't develop it till I was a freshman in high school. I had actually dreamed of having it since I saw the first X-Men and I saw Rouge, I was like 6. haha And the weird thing is the white only develops on my right side of my hair. I dyed my hair burgundy after a few months black(natural hair color) and 7 months later my white is slowly moving back in. Unfortunately the dye caused some hair fall out -_-. But I digress.

Bene
July 23rd, 2012, 12:56 AM
Do you mean vitiligo?

AnthonyB93
July 23rd, 2012, 01:00 AM
Oh yeah sorry, it is 3am! xD

Bene
July 23rd, 2012, 01:05 AM
Are you sure it's vitiligo? As in, have you been diagnosed by a doctor? From what I understand, it presents in the extremities and around the nose or mouth, and in sporadic patches. I've never heard of it affecting one spot in the scalp and hair. To have this ONLY show up on the scalp and suddenly affect your hair, and only in the one spot where it's actually cool, as in the Rogue temple location, would be akin to winning the lottery.

Perhaps you've had some damage in that region that affected the melanin in that one patch?

ETA: There's this thing called Waardenburg syndrome that would explain a white patch in the hair. But it also comes with other symptoms, like hearing loss. And some other stuff, I can't pronounce. Might wanna get your hearing checked.

AnthonyB93
July 23rd, 2012, 01:36 AM
Yeah, I was diagnosed. I have a white splotch on my face that covers my right cheek and goes over to the lips and below my eye.

Mesmerise
July 23rd, 2012, 06:41 AM