PDA

View Full Version : Donut rings: anyone use these successfully?

Celebrian
July 22nd, 2012, 06:16 AM
I bought one the other day in the largest size, and I can't seem to fix my hair round it properly (maybe a smaller donut would be better). The hair escapes and fans out, which is cute sometimes - just not all the time! Am I going to have to resort to a hairnet or what? I hate hairsprays etc.

whylime13
July 22nd, 2012, 07:05 AM
When I use a donut ring here is what I do:

Put the donut over a ponytail, fan the hair out over it in all directions at once and secure with a second hair elastic that ends up under the donut.

At my current length that leaves me with ends poking out every which way that are 3-6 inches long. Some times I leave them if I want a spiky look. Or I will use bobby pins to tuck all the ends in.

My problem is that I'm not very good with bobby pins and with the donut and two elastics in there they often work their way back out during the day. So I tie a ribbon around the whole thing which holds the pins in.

This method is the only way I've worked out to give myself a smooth - no messy strays bun. Surely there is a simpler way that does not involve a donut, 2 elastics, 6 bobby pins, and a ribbon. But I haven't figured it out yet.

palaeoqueen
July 22nd, 2012, 09:54 AM
I do the same as whylime13.

Celebrian
July 24th, 2012, 02:34 PM
Wore my doughnut thingie all night pretty successfully (so hot in England atm) and used a fine hair-net and a few pins to keep it in place. More-or-less stayed all night. Looked totally amazing volume-wise today, once released from the bun (but, jojo, my money is still on the straight 'spaniel' look, lol!).

Very pleased. Also, after being held up like that all night, it looked great just in the top ponytail once the hairnet released the ends of the hair. They were still in large curling-under feathers (if that makes sense).

brave
July 24th, 2012, 03:05 PM