PDA

View Full Version : Wooden Bristle Brushes... Yay or Nay?

Amethyste
July 20th, 2012, 07:54 AM
I don't like the BBB on my hair at all, don't like the feel of it and I don't think it does much either.

I am sure some of you have seen these but any one of you have one and use them on a daily basis? What is your opinion on it?

Thanks in advance!

Madora
July 20th, 2012, 08:56 AM
I'd say nay because the diameter of the wooden bristle is larger than the diameter of a typical hair and is rigid into the bargain.

A boar bristle is the closest thing in nature that "understands" the human hair structure. The bb diameter is much thinner than a wooden bristle, plus it flexes and doesn't put as much pressure on strands.

Crybb
July 20th, 2012, 09:55 AM
I'm a newbie, so take my experience with that in mind.. .. I Love my widu brush! I think it distributes my hair oil well and aligns my waves (I am not prone to tangles. my hair is AP 2a )
Looking forward to hearing what other folks think.

lunalocks
July 20th, 2012, 10:17 AM
Hello. Madora, I honor your experience and wisdom yet I have to tell you of my experience. I love my wood bristle brush. I have a BASS. This is how I stimulate my scalp (it feels amazing) every single night and evenly distribute whatever oil (one drop) throughout my length. I never brush when wet or tangled. The wood bristles are so smooth they never tear my hair. I have had several BBBs in my life and felt they were too rough on the hair shafts. Maybe I was using the wrong brand, or maybe different kinds of hair respond in various ways to different brushes. All I know is that I love my brush, and using it along with the other changes I have made, many found on this forum, has given me healthy hair.

ravenheather
July 20th, 2012, 10:48 AM
Never tried a wooden bristle brush. But I love my tangle teezer. It's more gentle than my wooden comb.

MissAlida
July 20th, 2012, 11:01 AM