PDA

View Full Version : An introduction and request for advice: Eczema :(

Talventorni
July 15th, 2012, 06:41 PM
Howdy,

My name is Samantha and I'm fairly new here, although I had been lurking for a little while before I signed up. I'm a student at university (UMass Amherst), studing computer systems engineering and linguistics + a minor in math. More relevantly: I have long hair, and I care about it. I've stuck a photo in here for reference:

http://i.imgur.com/LxGSs.jpg

History:

I have been growing it out from a boyhair-length (maybe 1/2 inches) since August 2009, with one trim this last January. So far I don't seem to have an inordinate number of split ends, but I do have a fair number of broken hairs. (Anyone know why?)

Now, I need a bit of advice: I have eczema, and unfortunately it has spread to my head. I normally treat it topically with a steroid cream, but you're not supposed to use such products on your head.

I have tried a myriad (well, some n>6) of shampoo and conditioner combinations, which I'll partially list:

I started with Suave naturals shampoo and conditioner, which I used for about the first year of growing my hair out again. During this time I had pretty bad eczema on my head and was hospitalised (and prescribed oral steroids) after scratching my scalp to the point of bleeding in my sleep for weeks on end.

At this point I started using Selsun Blue shampoo (with Suave naturals conditioner), but I didn't notice much of an effect. I then switched to Neutrogina T-Gel (.5% coal tar), which I think helped, but breaking the cycle of itching was difficult, so I only used this for about two or three weeks (no conditioner), before I switched again to Head and Shoulders ("Classic Clean"), which I used for about a year. Combined with a few other techniques and changing my living situation, I managed to get rid of nighttime scratching and the worst of the eczema.