PDA

View Full Version : Ex-Dreadhead needs help! :)

bekstamonkey
July 14th, 2012, 08:42 PM
Hi all :)

I'm a newbie here, although I've checked out the forums on a few occasions prior to realising I just HAD to join-in, the hair I see on here is just soooo beautiful and healthy that it makes me smile! :D

I have been growing my hair out for about 2 years or so, prior to which I had dreadlocks for 6 years - and, as you can imagine, keeping those puppies in line so as to form into locks required a lot of backcombing, and root-rubbing, which caused a lot of damage to my hair.

When I removed them, I cut my dreads to shoulder-length and used an entire bottle of conditioner and a comb over 7 hours to brush the rest out. This was an amazingly unpleasant experience, quite ouch, leaving my scalp kinda sore for a couple days afterwards...but my biggest problem, is that I broke a lot of hair in the process, and my hair, from the root, is no long as thick as it used to be - and after a couple years, does not seem to be re-thickening back up...so I'm a little worried that I have caused damage to my follicles and don't know if there's any way of rectifying this or not...

I've had people suggest to me that perhaps it's just a 'getting older' issue, but the fact of the matter is, I had thick hair UNTIL I brushed the dreads out. The two are definitely connected. I don't know what to do :(