PDA

View Full Version : So back to hair dye for me

bunzfan
July 8th, 2012, 04:59 AM
I have been treating my hair very gently for over 2 years co washing wearing up all the time including at bed time and i can easily go without conditioner on my length and its not dry in fact some days its still to soft.

I was going to colour it anyway with box dye again to cover the greys and a thread on here about hair being in good condition being a bad thing for some as its to soft not much body this rang bells for me because its often too soft and its natural body is gone probably because i don't damage it with irons or colour it with chemical dye. Its virgin from roots to bsl the only slightly dry bits are the ends where it had been coloured previously.

So don't hate me i hate this to soft hair.

FrannyG
July 8th, 2012, 05:18 AM
Why would anyone hate you? We are a community with people who dye/don't dye, blow dry/don't blow dry, use cones/are non-cone, etc.

I dye my hair, as you may have read. I do recommend that you coat your hair with coconut oil prior to putting the dye on your hair.

The dye will still work perfectly, but I have found that it prevents too much peroxide/ammonia damage.

The difference in my hair since using coconut oil prior to colouring or touching up my roots has been significant.

The dye still gives me more volume, but my hair is not visually or palpably damaged. I don't have so much as a split end.

Good luck, and I hope you post photos! :blossom:

pink.sara
July 8th, 2012, 05:22 AM
Aww, I thought you were going to give the temporary dyes a go to brighten it up and cover the greys?

Not that I think box dye is evil, without it mines a slinky flat sheet that won't even stay in a pony so I feel ya.

As always post pics if you do! :)

bunzfan
July 8th, 2012, 05:46 AM
Why would anyone hate you? We are a community with people who dye/don't dye, blow dry/don't blow dry, use cones/are non-cone, etc.