PDA

View Full Version : Best Thing You've Done For Your Hair

blaketob
July 1st, 2012, 02:55 PM
Hello everyone!!!

So recently I've been thinking about what works best/worse for what types of hair. I'm still new in the LHC so it's a little overwhelming to me that there are so many products, oils, coning vs. not coning, sulfate vs. non sulfate shampoos, etc.

So here's my question... what one thing have you done differently to your hair that has helped it grow/be in great condition :)

personally, I think that using no heat products has definitely effected my hair greatly the most.. what about you?

Shiranshoku
July 1st, 2012, 03:03 PM
Using 2 drops of baby oil after washing when damp, and one drop or so for my tassel when I braid. My hair wasn't very split-prone to begin with, but it's been 9 months since the last trim and I've only found 2 splits since. They're still nice and blunt :)

Dragon Faery
July 1st, 2012, 03:23 PM
Being a dry curly, the first best thing I've done was switch to CO washing. (Silicone and sulfate-free, as well.)

This has made it possible to do other things that never worked when I was still using shampoo:
1. Fingercomb only
2. Oil
3. Style my hair curly
4. Grow past BSL without tons of splits. :D

It has also cut down on my dandruff and given me shinier, more manageable hair. Yay!

Other good things for me have been
S&D-ing
Microtrims/dustings
Using a bit of satin ribbon underneath elastics to protect my hair from damage and breakage. (Thanks to Spidermom for suggesting it in some other thread!)

catamonica
July 1st, 2012, 03:35 PM
The best thing I've used is horse shampoo. It grew to waist from past midback, after years of not growing. Also a spray bottle mixed with olive oil & water. And adding olive oil to my shampoo & conditioner. And Aloe Vera to my conditioner. One more thing, I have been wearing a braided bun, since November 2011. In March, my hair grew four inches to hip. So wearing it up protects & keeps the hair in good condition.