PDA

View Full Version : Help needed! Weird, dry hair :-(

papera
June 30th, 2012, 04:33 AM
I'm in the need for hair advice ...

Basically, my hair feels kind of dry, crunchy, strawy and hard, especially after one or two days after the hair wash and I'm a bit puzzled why.
I have fine, wavy hair with a tendency to be dry, but somehow this dryness feels different from the normal dryness. This hardness and crunchy-ness is weird ...
Usually, when I have issues with dry hair I do a deep moisturizing treatment and my hair is fine, but since a while it doesn't work anymore the way it used to, it still feels crunchy and dry :(
Could I be in the need of clarifying? I've never done it before because of my dry hair.
( I read some articles about clarifying, but I'm still not sure if it would be the right thing to do for me ...)

Here are some more information regarding my hair care routine:
- I wash every 3-4 days with cone-free, moisturizing shampoo and conditioner, and sometimes I do a tea rinse after the wash with fennel or camomile. Usually my shampoos are mild, but I don't pay particular attention to SLS as I never had an issue with them.
-I use a leave-in every day for my ends, which consists of aloe vera gel, coconut oil and wheat germ oil
-I do a deep moisturizing deep treatment every week because of my generally dry hair. Sometimes I put the pulp of a fresh aloe vera leaf in the hair mask which used to make my hair really moist
-I keep my hair mostly in an updo, sometimes in a braid and down after I washed it
-I use dry-shampoo when my hair gets greasy (I really don't like the look of greasy hair), but I use it sparsely
-I do a bit of blow drying but on a cool level, but mostly in the winter and not in the summer (so not right now)

Please let me know if you need more information re my hair care routine.

Thanks a lot for your help! :flowers:

FrannyG
June 30th, 2012, 04:40 AM
It sounds as though you treat your hair very well.