PDA

View Full Version : How do you section your hair to apply Henna or other mud type products? Rinsing off?

MeMyselfandI
March 16th, 2008, 06:59 AM
How do you section your hair to apply henna or other mud type products?

How do you rinse them off?

I am fairly new to henna. I had a hard time putting it on and taking it off. I had some problems with dyes as well.

Rinsing was also difficult.

I bought some amla I want to try as a treatment. I dread the application of it.

I know I want to henna again, so I was looking for ideas on how you seperated your hair to apply the henna to your roots and hair. Also how do you rinse it off.

khyricat
March 16th, 2008, 07:06 AM
application for me is non standard- my hair is so thin that I apply around the hairline, and as I move in, I massage it through to the scalp all over, once that is done, I apply to the length, bun it and repeat with the excess over top of it all, massaging my head in its entirety...

onthe other hand, removal is standard- I mermaid soak in the tub first- water just deep enough to cover my head when tipped back.. and massage and swish until I get out as much as possible that way, lifting up to let the water move around the tub a few times.. then I use the handheld shower head on massage directly on my hair and scalp until it seems clean to me, then pour over my tea rinse leave in and get out.. let it air dry and comb very carefully.

mellie
March 16th, 2008, 07:14 AM
Re: sectioning: there is a tool that you can find at beauty supply shops, I think it is called a "tinting brush". It has a paint-brush type brush at one end and a "pick" at the other. I use the "pick" end of it to section my hair when I henna.

Re: rinsing: I do this in the bathroom sink. I tilt my head under and run water directly over my hair, and let the water collect so I can dunk my hair into it. Submerging it helps to loosen all the debris. Rinse it out a lot, more than you think you need to.