PDA

View Full Version : White hair regaining color = ???

Dragon Faery
June 16th, 2012, 12:52 AM
Tonight I found the oddest thing. I have a hair on the side of my head which is about 7 inches long. The bottom half is white/silver, nearly coarse, and loosely kinked like a 3a curl if it were damaged. Halfway up, TOWARD the roots, it changes to light/medium brown and M/F texture, and 1a/b in straightness.

Has this or something equally strange happened to anyone else? Is there an explanation (scientific or otherwise) as to why a hair would grow in white for 4 months, then suddenly change to colored over the course of the following four months?

Things that could maybe have affected this (although I'm not a scientist so I really don't know):
I spent most of the winter in chronic pain and pretty depressed. I was also stressed out a lot of the time. I was probably malnourished from a vitamin/mineral standpoint, though I also gained about 10 pounds during that time. I let much of my hair care routine go out the window, CO washing only about once every 2 weeks and doing nothing else in the interim.
Around late February-ish, I started taking more vitamins and supplements, started feeling sporadically better physically and emotionally, and consequently became a little more active. I restarted my hair care routine, which includes taking several herbs in pill and/or tea forms, castor oil scalp massages, and more frequent washings (for the sake of my itchy scalp, which gets itchier when dirty).

I don't know if any of those things were a factor or not, but has this happened to anyone else?

Debra83
June 16th, 2012, 02:03 AM
Different things cause loss of colour.....from vitamin/nutrition defiency....medical reason (like shock).....medication....chemical......

I've read tons of nutritional information and definitely a better diet can totally contribute to regaining natural colour.

Bagginslover
June 16th, 2012, 02:27 AM