PDA

View Full Version : Hair Product Rant

Tizzles
June 7th, 2012, 03:52 AM
If this belongs somewhere else mods please feel free to move it. But I am SOOO FRUSTRATED with the hair industry right now I could spit. Today I went to Sally's just to look around, I was bored, had time to kill, it was just next door, I figured..why not.

So I go in, get a few things, start looking for a good deep moisturizing treatment that I can do that is relatively cheap. I tell the girl working the counter who asked to help me that my hair ABSOLUTELY CAN NOT have products with protein in it. My hair literally freaks out and my ends feel like crunchy dried straw when I get protein from hair products in my hair. She points me to Infusium-23 leave in conditioner. I read through the ingredients and nothing popped out to me as protein. Granted, I didn't do my homework before I purchased, it was kind of a spur of the moment type thing. And yes, I'm new to this whole "anti-protein" way of thinking for my hair, I just figured out within the last month and a half or so that extra protein and protein build up is why my hair was freaking out(thanks to some awesome LHC'ers).

Anyway, she's all "Infusium-23 doesn't have any protein and it's supposed to make your hair really thick and help it grow and prevent breakage". A red flag should have went up at "protects against breakage" but it didn't. Live and learn I guess. My biggest gripe is that a bunch of "hair product" companies are going absolutely berserk over "Keratin Therapy" for the hair and putting it in everything. The unsuspecting consumer is going "ga ga" for this crap and not knowing that it's going to absolutely ruin their hair if they don't need protein. All most people hear is like what I heard and I am not completely ignorant about hair care (finally since I've been coming here). So they're going to be "oh yea keratin that's what I need, it's natural in my hair so it can't hurt it right?" Wrong.