PDA

View Full Version : Am I using coconut oil wrong?

princess-royal
June 5th, 2012, 07:29 PM
Trying to repair mushy, limp, damaged hair with coconut oil. At first I applied quite a lot but it just made my hair greasy and stick to my head and I had to wash it out twice. Since then I've been putting a very small amount on my hair when I wash it (twice a week), leaving it for 30 mins-1 hour, and washing it out. I've been doing this for a couple of months and haven't noticed any improvement whatsoever. Am I doing it right? My hair is really getting me down (I'm kind of bitter because it was fine until a hairdresser insisted on killing it with straighteners in December...if only I hadn't gone there...) and I want to actually see an improvement.

swearnsue
June 5th, 2012, 08:13 PM
It sounds like you might need a protein treatment. When you say mushy it sounds like it's stretchy? But it definitely sounds like coconut oil isn't working for you.

OhioLisa
June 5th, 2012, 08:21 PM
You're not really going to repair damage with anything. The best you can do is treat your hair gently and cut away damage over time.

ravenreed
June 5th, 2012, 10:09 PM
Try a protein treatment, or a shampoo and/or conditioner with protein. You can even try using mayonnaise on your hair, although I did that once (many, many years ago) and it was very stinky! Also, coconut oil doesn't work for everyone. You may need to try different oils to find something your hair likes better.

MonaMayfair
June 6th, 2012, 07:15 AM
As ravenreed said, coconut oil doesn't work for everyone, nothing does! My hair doesn't like any oils (and I've tried them all!) The most I can get away with is a very tiny amount of argan oil on the ends.

On the other hand, when I condition with catnip my hair feels smooth and soft, and the shine is blinding!