PDA

View Full Version : Clarifying???

jellycatty
June 3rd, 2012, 09:46 PM
Hey everyone this is my first post here!

I have a lot of buildup and scalp from my hair even though I shampoo every other day. I would like some NATURAL clarifying methods from you guys. I might start CO washing but I'm scared I'll get even more acne (when conditioner touching my skin I get acne whether it's on my neck, back, scalp).

I have tried an ACV rinse and my hair didn't like it, it made my scalp really itchy and dried it out. It still makes my scalp itchy when I do spot treatments on the acne too... I was thinking of doing a lemon rinse but I'm scared it will make my dark brown hair orangey and I don't want that.

I heard club soda is a good to clarify with, does anyone use that?

Sorry I am just a total newbie at this ):

Suze2012
June 4th, 2012, 03:35 AM
I would recommend a good read from the beginning of the Co washing thread.
http://forums.longhaircommunity.com/showthread.php?t=2898

From what i have read on there (and I'm quite new to this also (!) is that for a natural clarify baking soda would be the option if you want something natural.

It can be mixed with normal shampoo or mixed up with water (or both).

I don't think too much is needed - hopefully smeone will come along soon to give and idea of quantities.

I have seen some people say they didn't get on with it, one post I read just recently said that her hair doesn't like baking soda at all - this reminded me of a time years ago when I was advised by my doctor to take baking soda orally for a problem I had with my tum - I found that my hands swelled to double the size and were very sore and itchy - I'm allergic to it in any kind of quantity.

However - it does work successfully for many people.

Should you decide not to go for baking soda then Nutrogena anti residue shampoo seems to be one of the top choices for it. I use to use it years ago and found it did the job but wasn't too harsh on my hair.