PDA

View Full Version : sulphate- and cone free haircare

CSallaround
May 28th, 2012, 04:41 AM
Hi everyone

I was thinking of asking my questions on one of the existing threads about cones but I decided to start a whole new thread so we can collect some advice and tricks on sulphate- and cone-free haircare. :)

I have been switching between using cones and no cones for several months now. My hair seems to be fine without cones but once in a while I start missing the slip I get from cones - especially when my hair has a lot of tangles.
Right now I switch between using an SLS shampoo without silicone and shampoo without sulphates as well.

I want to stop using shampoo's containing sulphates - except for the occasional clarifying but I'm unsure about wether I can still use cones though only clarifying once in a while.
1. Do you use cones and if yes - how often do you use a sulphate shampoo?
2. Are there any conefree products out there that help protect your hair from the sun? I don't always wear scarfs or hats in the sun, because I prefer the way I look without.

Feel free to share any tips on cone/sulphate free hair care routines.

EDIT
Do anyone experience that oil etc doesn't absorb as good when a silicone product has been used first??
Is it true that cones can block or reduce the amount of moisture absorbed by the hair? I read somewhere here on LHC that some coatings can do this but I wasn't sure if that included cones. Anyone know what ingredients can coat the hair like this?
I want to continue using cones but if the goodies I baby my hair with doesn't absorb well when I use cones I'll go conefree again

spookyghost
May 28th, 2012, 04:48 AM
Im trying to figure this out also so I will be watching this thread!

ptricia
May 28th, 2012, 05:51 AM
Coconut oil protects your hair from sun damage. Women in Thailand and Indonesia use coconut oil to protect their hair, it also helps to untangle the hair.

LadyCelestina
May 28th, 2012, 06:36 AM