PDA

View Full Version : The importance of trimming.

willowcandra
July 29th, 2008, 12:30 PM
I was wondering today if anyone who didn't trim found their hair got thin at the ends and stopped growing but then thickened up when they started to trim it regularly. (huge mouth full sorry.)

I was wondering if trimming can be pro-active in keeping hair looking great....full trim versus search and destroy.?

RustedAngel
July 29th, 2008, 12:44 PM
I usually just get a full slight trim every few months, because I'm a noob and no good at search and destroy trimming. People told me I would get good at it as I got longer hair, but I never did.

burns_erin
July 29th, 2008, 12:47 PM
I do not trim and do not have that problem, though I know of plenty of people who do. However, I do S&D's often so that may serve the place in my hair's consideration.

Riot Crrl
July 29th, 2008, 12:51 PM
I think it depends what you want the ends to look like.

harpgal
July 29th, 2008, 12:52 PM
:waving: Hello RustedAngel! My hubby says "hello".

willowcandra, as most know around here, I am a huge fan of trimming. It is truly a tool to be used in the growth and maintenance of long hair. There is a delicate balance in using it, however. One must figure out how much to trim and how often in order to maximize its benefits.

BlueRose4217
July 29th, 2008, 12:56 PM
I think both are important to keeping your hair looking and feeling healthy. I do both regularly and I am very pleased with my ends for being the hair type that I am. I don't think that one can replace the other since I do get some splits farther up than my hemline - s&d's catch those. Regular trimming keeps my hemline nice and even, but it doesn't necessarily keep my splits in check. I have very few splits, too. So, basically, I think both are needed for different reasons. HTH! :)

spidermom
July 29th, 2008, 01:22 PM