PDA

View Full Version : So apparently, my hair stinks of vinegar?!

PixxieStix
May 19th, 2012, 08:17 PM
Hey everyone!

Okay, so I've been doing diluted ACV rinses after every wash since about December 2011 (ish) , and I know my fiance doesn't like the smell, HATES being in the bathroom if I'm doing it, so I had always assumed that if my hair smelled like vinegar once it dried then he'd say something, but since he didn't I assumed that I had no residual smell.

Turns out I was wrong! I tried a new method today, I am experimenting with using a shampoo bar and the last two times I've washed my hair, my ends felt drier than usual so I decided instead of rinsing with ACV and then doing a cold water rinse to combine the two and do a cold water ACV rinse and see if that helped. I added some Shea to my coconut oil and ta-da! Happy ends. Well, after it dried though I thought it smelled kinda funny, so I went to my fiance and asked him if he would sniff my hair and tell me how it smelled. He sniffed it and promptly replied that it smells like vinegar, as always.

I was floored! Half a year and he never said anything, and he HATES this stuff. I had to ask why he never said anything, and he told me it was because he thinks it's so cute how much I love my hair and it just made me so happy to do it so he didn't want to ruin it. D'waaaaaaaaah!!!!! (He's definitely a keeper!)

Okay, well, here's the thing: I don't want to make him smell something he doesn't like on a daily basis, so what do I do to reduce the smell? Apparently even when rinsing with cold water afterwards, my hair still smelled of the stuff. Can anyone give me suggestions on what to do? I don't want to give up my ACV rinses because they have been so wonderful for my hair, but I also don't want to be offensive to anyone's nose. Is there such a thing as hair perfume? Or anything I can add to the rinse to change the smell! Any and all help/advice is greatly appreciated!

winship2
May 19th, 2012, 08:23 PM