PDA

View Full Version : Gathering Tips for Celiac Disease Hair

Vapunzel91
May 16th, 2012, 10:29 PM
Hi, everyone!

It's been a while since I've been on, but I really need some hair help. One of my best friends was diagnosed with Celiac Disease and is trying to grow her hair to her shoulders. My new stepmother has also been diagnosed with Celiac Disease and wants healthy, longish hair. Both want to have hair that is long enough to put in a ponytail with an extra five inches hanging from the pony tailer.

Unfortunately, both have hair that is chin length and doesn't seem to grow! My stepmother and friend have finally gotten the B-12 vitamin up, take Biotin, and are trying to get their blood cell count higher from anemia. I think both are doing pretty well, but I'd really like to help them, but I'm no hair expert except for my own hair.

If anyone can give me hair tips for people with Celiac Disease, I would greatly appreciate it.

Here's a site for more about Celiac Disease: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmedhealth/PMH0001280/

Innes&Swan
May 17th, 2012, 07:37 AM
I was just about to post, and ask about others with Celiac! I have been diagnosed for 5 years. I experienced tremendous hair loss, before finding out that I have Celiac. The first step is to heal the intestines, which may take 1+ yrs. If you are super vigilant with a no gluten diet, it may happen sooner. Hair growth will not be optimal until the intestines are healed, and the body is absorbing vitamins and minerals again.
I recommend a following a 'Nourishing Traditions' type diet, with a focus on bone broths, to speed healing.
Hope this is helpful:)

UpNorth
May 17th, 2012, 08:02 AM